Board of Directors

Stanley Wheeler (1938-2016)

Honorary President

Dr. Phyllis Noda


Professor, Eastern Michigan University


Reginald A. Pacis, Esq.

Vice President

Immigration Attorney, Butzel Long, P.C.

Maria Capicchioni Harris




Jim Clark

Consumers Energy

Joe Dzenowagis

KDN Video Works

Dr. Gia Feistel

Health care consultant

Rev. Sahara Russell

Retired Minister

Maria Kane

MK Enterprises of Detroit

Dr. Linda Leddick

Wayne State University

Advisory Council

  • Betty Appleby
  • Nicholas Becharas
  • Eva Dewaelshe
  • Gregory Dunmore
  • Gust Feles
  • Stanislaw Golec
  • Roland Hwang, Esq.
  • Jeff Jenks
  • Sen. Carl M. Levin, Esq. (retired)
  • Ewa Matuszewski-Joucys
  • Betty Misuraca
  • Thomas Napolitano, Retired AT&T
  • Helen Nilson-Stojic
  • Dominic Pangborn
  • Steven B. Roby, Esq., Immigration Attorney
  • Bruce Thelen, Esq.
  • Penny Voudoukis

Tracie Davie Patterson

Advisory Council Coordinator

Board of Directors Committees

The Board of Directors meets monthly, with an annual meeting in June. Board Committees meet as scheduled.

  • Executive Committee
  • Legal Affairs and Buildings and Grounds Committees
  • Personnel Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Institute Services Committee
  • Community Outreach Committee
  • Electronic Services Committee
  • Marketing Committee
  • Nomination Committee
  • Bylaws Committee
  • Fund Development Committee
  • Ambassadors’ Council